Posted by: Mike Ring | September 9, 2009

So now what?

I did something today that I told myself I never would — I started this blog. I always thought of a personal blog as a place for Type A personalities to spout off about themselves because everyone around them finally told them to shut the fuck up. After reading a few I see they can be a personal spot to reflect, and if by chance someone is bored enough to come across it, something to relate to. So here I go, and on to the point.

Last thursday I was laid-off. I was an art director for a large television media company and until a recent re-org (god I hate that word) I loved my job. This blog is not about self-pity or whining, but more of a journey to the next thing, and even more so, a journal of random occurrences along the way. As with most working people, I am not used to having a lot of time, so already I have started to pay closer attention to things I usually ignore — like the people who shop at the mall at 10 a.m. on a Wednesday morning.

Responses

  1. I like your idea about a blog. I was laid off more than once (which happens to just about everyone who works for a business) and it is very hard. It made me mad to have someone who knew very little about me to have decided the company, which I’d been part of for much longer than he, didn’t need me, or my coworkers, any more.

    Getting over the anger and embarrassment took time, but the feeling of being freeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee started immediately. It reminded me of the first day of summer vacation when I was in elementary school.

    Enjoy your time of reflection and freedom. It always comes to an end, which is ultimately good news for the most part, but you’ll miss these days too.

  2. This is a great idea! Boy oh boy can i relate. I’ve read a few other blogs by people who are for various reasons out of work and I’ve learned a lot. One of the hardest things for me is feeling cut off from people I used to see every day. It’s kind of lonely – I miss people at work a lot. I also am seeing a lot of people I don’t ordinarily see so that’s the flip side which is great. And as previously mentioned by another anonymous reader – the feeling of freeeeeeeeeeeeeeedom is heady. There is much in life to be enjoyed.

    You seem like a pretty nice guy.

  3. I was sorry to hear this news…… but keep your chin up, you’re really frickin’ talented! (and a very patient teacher!)

    It’ll be good to see your progress….. maybe you’ll even enjoy the bloggin’. Good space to vent w/ friends.

    Cheers!
    P.

    • Yeah, I am sure things will be fine. It is fun to completely change course sometimes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

